Consider Your Ways!

Thus says Jehovah of hosts, saying, This people says, The time has not come, the time for the house of Jehovah to be built. Then the word of Jehovah came through Haggai the prophet saying, Is it time for you yourselves to dwell in your paneled-up houses while this house lies waste? Now therefore says Jehovah of hosts, Consider your ways. You have sown much, but bring in little; you eat, but there is no satisfaction; you drink, but there is no being filled with drink; you dress yourselves, but there is no warmth in doing so; and he who earns wages, earns wages to put them into a bag with holes.

You looked for much, and yet it amounted to little; and when you brought it home, I blew on it. Why? declares Jehovah of hosts–Because of My house that lies waste while you each run to your own house.

Thus says Jehovah of hosts, Consider your ways. Go up to the mountain and bring wood and build the house and I will take pleasure in it and will be glorified says Jehovah. (Haggai 1:2-6, 9, 7-8)

Saints, I was so convicted by the words spoken through Haggai the prophet. I was exposed in that I am like the children of Israel in their unconcern and complacency toward the state of God’s house. God’s house, the Father’s house, our Father’s house lies waste and here I am so wrapped up in myself, running after my own things. I care about my career, my next step in life, my family life, my personal needs, my health. I am bogged down and unsatisfied with where I am in all respects of my own life. Like Ron shared, we are full of anxiety and we reach a stalemate in our life, where nothing satisfies and nothing means anything, why? The answer is simple, because God’s house isn’t first.

You will never be satisfied until God is satisfied in you.

This was our brother’s loving, chastising word in this message. We will never be satisfied until God is satisfied in us, and He finds rest and satisfaction only in His house. If His house lies waste, there is no satisfaction for Him, there is no satisfaction for us. There is no way for us to be neutral in this matter. Either we are those putting God’s house first or our own desires and things, our own “house.” We may say that we are those for the building, we may have the desire, we may have the realization of the need, but what of our living?

If you want the temple to be built, you should live for it!

God’s house today, the Father’s house is not a physical house. It is NOT the building on the corner. The Father’s house is a growing building. It is built up in an organic way through the building in of the Father’s children into the Father and the Father into His children. So, how do we build the House? By telling the Father,

Lord, will you please come with the Father and make an abode with me?

Let Him come to you. Meet Him every morning on the mountain top of your spirit let Him as the kingdom seed in your spirit GROW! Let Him GROW!

Oh Lord Jesus! Grow Thou in me! All things else recede. Lord, though I may react, flinch, even cry, Lord don’t let me go, make your home in my heart! Build me into the Father’s unshakable house. Save me from running after my own things, save me from giving myself to something shakable, save me from self glory, save me from all that is not a part of Your building. Have mercy on me to make me a builded and building member.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Beatriz

     /  July 10, 2012

    Amen! Do it, Lord!

    Reply
  2. Ray.

     /  July 16, 2012

    Build me into the Father’s unshakable house. Save me from running after my own things, save me from giving myself to something shakable, save me from self glory, save me from all that is not a part of Your building. Have mercy on me to make me a builded and building member. Amen dear Saints.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

